A Couscous Plate in Haste!

Most weekends I plan our dinners for the week so that I could cut the necessary veggies ahead of time. Sometimes I have leftover cut or forzen veggies after making pulav or vegetable rice. On such days one of the foods that I love to cook and combine the veggies with is couscous. This saves me a lot of time in the evenings ,when I am almost always in a hurry!!. Ever since we found out that broccoli helps to lower bad cholesterol, I usually have lots of carrot and broccoli and invariably end up making carrot broccoli-couscous uppumma or tomato couscous baath. Recently I tasted another simple yet flavourful couscous recipe from my friend Pinal, which I will post later.

So scroll down for twin recipes using couscous.

1. Carrot-broccoli Couscous uppumma

Ingredients for two

1 cup couscous

1 carrot-cut into thin round or from the frozen pack

2-3 florettes broccolli

1 onion—chopped fine

1/2 tsp mustard

1 tsp oil

1/2 tsp broken black gram dal (lentils)

1/2 tsp bengal gram dal (lentils)
1 red chilli pinched

1 green chilli chopped fine

1/4 tsp turmeric

1/4 tsp red chilli powder

salt to taste

a pinch of asafoetida

roughly chopped cilanthro

veggie-couscous.JPG
Method

First cook the couscous according to the instructions on the pack. I bought it from whole foods and so it needed about 1 and1/2 cups of boiling water . fluff it with a fork to separate the grains.

Season mustard in one tsp of oil in a wok and once it splits fry the dals until they are golden brown. fry the chillies and the asafoetida. Then sautee the carrot and broccoli until cooked. Add salt,turmeric,red chilli powder, cooked couscous and mix well. garnish with coriander leaves.

2. Tomato couscous baath

Ingredients

1 cup couscous

3 juicy tomatoes chopped into small pieces

1 big onion chopped

1/2 tsp mustard

1 tsp oil

1/2 tsp broken black gram dal (lentils)

1/2 tsp bengal gram dal (lentils)
1 red chilli pinched

1 green chilli chopped fine

a pinch of asafoetida

1/4 tsp turmeric

1/4 tsp red chilli powder

salt to taste
1 tsp of amma’s dhania-redchilli-bengal gram dal powder or 1/2 tsp garam masala

roughly chopped cilanthro

tomato-couscous.JPG
Method

First cook the couscous and fluff it as before

Just as in the carrot-broccoli uppumma in a wok season the oil with mustard, then add the dals , after they turn golden brown fry the chillies ,asafoetida and the onions. Once the onions are cooked, add the chopped tomatoes,tuemeric and the red chilli powder. Cook till the tomatoes become soft and pliable. At this stage I usually add my amma’s powder but garam masala powder could also be added. Turn off the stove and to this tomato-onion curry add the couscous and mix thoroughly. Serve with a side of pickle.

couscousplate1.JPG

A couscous plate with pickles

Tips:

1. Any veggie easy to sautee could be used
2. some curry leaves could also be fried in the oil

6 Comments »

  1. Asha said

    After looking at all those sweets, it’s nice to come back for some savoury upma!! Thanks Nalini!!

  2. Nalini said

    Hi Asha,

    thanks a lot. I haven’t gotten around to making sweets yet! waiting for Friday:-))
    Nalini

  3. MenuToday said

    Hi Nalini,
    Your upma looks colourful!!! Thanks for sharing. “Happy Diwali”!!!

  4. […] When Hua, who rides the vanpool to work with me, said that though she loved looking at the colorful couscous recipe pictures in my blog, she didn’t know/use half the ingredients I used, my friend Pinal suggested this versatile couscous recipe with “American Friendly” ingredients!! It is a very simple and flavorful recipe, especially wonderful to cook if one is dieting, which btw we are supposed to be doing!!:-)). […]

  5. calories in applebees spinach artichoke dip

  6. First of all I would like to say wonderful blog! I had a quick question that I’d like to ask if you do not mind.
    I was interested to find out how you center yourself and clear your thoughts
    prior to writing. I have had a hard time clearing my
    mind in getting my thoughts out. I truly do enjoy writing however it
    just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are generally lost simply just trying to figure out how
    to begin. Any ideas or tips? Kudos!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

