Deepavali Delights: Better late than never!

I have been wanting to blog my maiden attempt in making Diwali sweets and savouries for the past week but unfortunately it had been just the sort of week where all the best laid plans go awry!!. First our DSL wouldn’t work because we changed phone numbers last week and this flummoxed our account and then when it started working I got busy at work!!. Anyway to cut a long story short, I finally resolved to do it now!!

ok, I first made Saffron Hut’s Almond/Badam Halwa ,especially because she mentions that, it is a fail-proof recipe :-)) and sure enough it turned out to be so. It was a little dry at first but like mentioned by Saffron, I added a little milk and lo and behold I was able to make lustrous, bite-size balls. I added a pinch of colour and so I got nice orange color almond balls!!

Thanks Saffron hut for the great recipe!

badam-halwa.JPG

Encouraged by the success I decided to venture into the world of Burfis. I tried Coconut Burfi but it was a flop since the sugar-coconut mixture sort of dried out and fell apart. Though the pieces tasted good I couldn’t get them to stick together like a cake and so we ate them as Coconut-sugar powder!!:-(((. I did click a picture of the ruins but unfortunately it didn’t come out properly.I still need to practice taking good photos!!

Dismayed but not disheartened, I moved on to preparing the savouries. First I made mullu murukku or munupu as we call it .It is similar to the delicious thenkuzhal,blogged by Krithika of Manpasand except that one has to use the murukku plates with the star engraved in them to give them the rough edges. I got this recipe from my sister .

Ingredients for about 8 small mullu murukkus

Murukku/thenkuzhal press with the star engraved munupu plates

1 cup rice flour sieved fine
2-3 tbspoon urad(black gram) flour sieved fine

1/2 tsp cumin seeds

1/2 tsp sesame seeds

1/2 tsp red chilli powder

a pinch asafoetida dissolved in water

1/4 cup butter or ghee

salt to taste

Method

Mix all the ingredients with very little water. The final dough should be soft but firm(Sort of like chapatti flour but softer and more pliable). Roll out a portion of the dough and stuff it in to the mould of the murukku press. squeeze the press in a circular motion in the oil and fry in a medium flame,till the bubbles subside. Remove with a slotted spoon and drain the oil using a paper towel. After it cools down store in a container.

munupo2.JPG

Here are the other festival specials I made for lunch on Diwali. One of our neighbours and her friend were our guests for lunch.I’m feeling really tired so I will blog the recipes in the near future. Couldn’t resist showing off though!!:-))

vadai1.JPG
Urad dhal vadai(Black gram dal fritters),Gulab Jamoon from MTR mix and Badam/Almond- carrot payasam

3 Comments »

  1. lakshmi said

    almond burfi is so tasty, isn’t it. your diwali treats are great.
    nice blog.

  2. Nalini said

    Hi Lakshmi,

    Yes, the burfi is really yummy.Thanks for your kind words.
    Nalini

  3. Nidhi said

    I am a big fan of South Indian food and I specially like vadas….so I cannot stop myself from complimenting your vadas. They look very yummy.

    I am here for the first time and will keep coming for more recipes.

    Happy Holidays.

    Cheers, Nidhi.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

