Okra in a peanut-coconut sauce!

Ok, ok, I really don’t know the name of this dish, hence the vaguely descriptive title! I got this recipe from one of my best friends who lives in Bangalore. Hers used to be the place my friends and I land up when we wanted to have fun and also were tired of the monotonous hostel food. When I think of my student days in Bangalore, memories of the great times in Usha’s house play a major part. Of course, her cooking was an added attraction. One of her many specialities used to be this Bhindi dish, which tasted divine and didn’t have the usual garlic-onion-tomato base. So, last month when I spoke to her, I remembered to ask her for this recipe. I made this dish last week for a party and it was a huge success. I personally thought that it didn’t have the special ‘Usha’ touch but it did taste good! ok, so before you scroll below for the recipe let me warn you guys that it does take a lot of oil to make this dish delicious.Usha’s advice to me was not to skimp on the oil if I wanted the original taste( by original, I mean the ‘divine taste’ I mentioned before!). So with that little advisory, here goes the recipe:

dsc03824.JPG

Serves 4

Take about 15 okras and cut them into 2inch pieces. Deep fry them and keep side.

Soak a lemon sized ball of tamarind in hot water and keep aside

Make a paste with little water of

1tsp Dhana powder

1/2 tsp turmeric powder

1tsp red chilli powder and keep aside

Roast and blend

1/4 cup coconut

3-4 tbspoons peanuts

1 tsp sesame seeds

1 tsp poppy seeds

In 4 tbspoons of oil fry

1/2tsp mustard seeds

1/2 tsp of kalonji(Nigella seeds)

4 red chillies and

2-3 bay leaves

Add the dhania-turmeric-red chilli paste to this. To this add the tamarind extract and heat for a few minutes. Add the ground peanut-coconut paste and let it boil untill the raw smell is gone. Salt this boiling mixture, adjust the spiciness by adding more red chilly powder if necessary and finally throw in the fried okra.

dsc03822.JPG

Though the list of ingredients and processes seem never ending, the final curry is delicious and rea—lly worth the effort. It is of course better to make this for a special occasion or for a party,so that you could have delicious left overs ie if you have any!!!:-))

Tips:

You could also use small egg plants instead of the okra. Make a plus and slit it half way from the  top of the egg plant before you fry it.

3 Comments »

  1. maheswari said

    That looks delicious..name doesn’t matter..pic. says it all.Your friend is right..no oil..no taste..:D.First time here..loved your blog..

  2. Lakshmik said

    Hi

    Yummy sauce. I guess it takes more oil because of the peanuts. But once a while I guess it is ok to make this recipe. Thanks.

  3. Vini K said

    Hi Nalini,incidentally I use the same peanut coconut sesame sauce for indian beans.I learnt this from one of my hubby’s cousin’s wife.Never tried okra with this sauce though.Will try this when I get some okra today!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

