Veggie Noodles —-Dallas Special!

Below is my sister’s recipe for the delicious veggie noodles that she cooked for us at their house during our vacation in Dallas. I made them a few days ago and they tasted as yummy as it did at my sis’s place. The final verdict was however tipped in favour of my sister; we decided that it somehow tasted better in Dallas!:-)))

Anyway I used whatever veggies I had in my fridge; my sister used Carrots,peas,potatoes,onions and spring onions.

dsc03826.JPG
Recipe Serves 4

2 packs Hakka noodles

1 cup of yellow,orange and green bell pepper

1/4cup frozen green peas

1 bunch spring onions, chopped(Green part used for garnishing)

1/3 cup onions diced

1/2 cup paneer cubes (~15 cubes)

1 tsp ginger-garlic paste

1 green chilly chopped fine

1tsp schezuan sauce

1tsp tomato sauce ( I used Maggi sauce)

1/2 tsp green chilli sauce

1-2 tsp soy sauce

2 tsp olive oil

salt according to taste

dsc03827.JPG

Cook the noodles al dente according to the instructions in the packet. drain in a colander; place this under running water so that the cooked noodles don’t stick together. My sister disentangles them and cools them. I did that too.

Saute paneer in about 1 tsp of oil until both sides are lightly browned.

In a wok, heat the oil,fry onions, spring onions,ginger-garlic paste and green chillies for a few minutes. Once the onions turn pink, add the bell peppers. After 2 minutes,when they are half cooked, add the peas. Add the sauces and saute in high heat for a minute. Mix in the noodles thoroughly. Adjust salt and garnish with the green part of the Scallions and browned paneer cubes.

13 Comments »

  1. Lakshmik said

    I love schezuan sauce and I will add it next time I make noodles. Thanks for your recipe.

  2. Coffee said

    Guess what!!!! I made the exact same minus the paneer!!!!! What a lovely idea that is!!!! Paneer and Noodles!!! UUMMMMMM,…….!!!! 🙂

  3. Jacob said

    wow, look at that. compared to this my recipe pales:(.
    will try this the next time i feel like noodles!

  4. Mythreyee said

    thats really a wonderful dish. Will surely try it soon. Thanks for sharing. Very good picture.

  5. RP said

    That looks heavenly! What is hakka noodles? Where can I get it?

  6. Nalini said

    You are welcome Lakshmi. Do try it and let me know how it turns out!

    Coffee, see, great minds think alike!!:-))) the paneer really adds taste to the dish!Do try it!

    Thanks Jacob, but nothing can beat good ole Maggi Noodles and of course your amazing cartoons!!:-))

    Thanks,Mythreyee

    Thanks RP, I bought Sam’s Hakka noodles (Made in Bombay:-)))from the Indian store here. I think Hakka is just flat noodles,Indo-chinese style!!

  7. sia said

    hi nalini,
    i guess this is my first visit to ur blog and what better way to get me hooked with ur noodles recipe. looks absolutely delicious. i have never added paneer to noodles. its some indian twist to chinese food:) thankyou for ur recipe.

  8. Nidhi said

    Those noodles are looking divine and those peices of paneer, Oh! sauted or fried paneer is my favourite. Your dish is so perfect…and so is your sister. Please do tell her that she has done a wonderful and beautiful job in making these veggie noodles.
    Thanks, Nidhi.

  9. Vini K said

    Hi Nalini,first time here.The noodles look great.What a nice innovation to add paneer to it!Will try this out sometime soon(soon as I get my grocery order ,i have already ordered the noodles.)

  10. smitha said

    Hi Nalini,read this recipe & got so excited to make them…Did try them too…big hit… adding paneer was simply a fantastic idea..Thx alot 4 sharing

  11. usha said

    Hi!
    Just saw your blog. came across this noodles recipe…
    To add paneer in noodles!! that’s an innovative idea!
    It will get over in a minute….

  12. Shella said

    Wow the noodles look delicious n perfect. I love the paneer bit.

  13. tiffin services noida
    tiffin services noida Find The Best Restaurant Noida at Snacks India Provides indian breakfast,food in noida

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

